Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

penn-place-frontGarrett Park was incorporated as a Town in 1898. Garrett Park operates under
a Council-Manager form of government.

All legislative powers of the Town are vested in the Town Council, consisting of five Council members. Each is elected for a two–year term, with two members elected in even-numbered years, three in odd-numbered years. Executive powers of the town are vested in the Mayor who shall be elected and serve for a two year term. Elections are held on the first Monday in May.The Council sets policy, adopts the annual budget. The Town Manager directs the day-to-day operations of the Town government, hires and manages staff, and provides monthly managers reports to the Council.

Social services, schools, courts, police, fire, building inspections and planning and zoning services are provided by Montgomery County. Garrett Park has an Overlay Zone with separate regulations for building in addition to Montgomery County.

Garrett Park lies within Montgomery County Council District 1, Maryland General Assembly District 18 and U.S. House of Representatives District 8.